Aurora School introduces three new analysis chairs

Published: November 12, 2020 at 6:24 am Ollie WilliamsNovember 12, 2020

Aurora College's Thebacha campus can be seen in a photo taken by Taylor Architecture GroupAurora College’s Thebacha campus can be seen in a photo taken by Taylor Architecture Group.

Before converting to a polytechnic university, three new chair positions will be created at Aurora College at NWT.

A research chair in climate change adaptation will be based in Inuvik, while Fort Smith will have a position focusing on indigenous approaches to environmental management.

Yellowknife will host a research chair in health and society.


Starting this month, the positions will be filled in open competitions.

Research chairs are employees who are responsible for developing and implementing research programs.

The chairs announced this week are directly related to the specialties that the NWT government recently announced for the new Polytechnic University, which is expected to open in 2025 to replace the college.

In a press release, the college said the positions would help build capacity in the north and meet research needs in the north.

Some of the money needed to fund the positions will come from ArcticNet, a federally supported network of universities aiming to study the social, economic and environmental impacts of climate change and modernization on the Canadian north.


ArcticNet’s commitment to the positions is $ 1.4 million over a four year period.


Comments are closed.